By our reporter

In a May 7, 2018 letter to Speaker Rebecca Kadaga, Finance minister Matia Kasaija re-appointed five officials to the Financial Intelligence Authority (FIA) board.

“Under section 26(1) of the Anti-Money Laundering Act, Members of FIA Board serve for a term of three years and are eligible to be reappointed for one more term. Given the satisfactory performance of the FIA Board during its first tenure, I recommend the reappointment of the current members of the Board,” Kasaija said.

“The purpose of this letter is to seek Parliament’s approval to reappoint the above persons as members of the FIA Board, as provided for under section 25(4) of the Anti-Money Laundering Act, 2013,” he further noted.

One of the reappointed officials is Justine Bagyenda who was recently sacked as Bank of Uganda Director in charge of commercial bank’s supervision and currently under probe by FIA over money laundering allegations.

Other officials re-appointed by by the minister to the FIA board are Leo Kibirango as chairman, Deputy Secretary to the Treasury Patrick Ocaillap, Assistant Inspector General of Police Grace Akullo, and Patricia Mutesi.