By Watchdog reporter

Despite the low voters turn out in Omoro district, there is one man who was excited about the exercise. Democratic Party president Norbert Mao finally participated in the 2016 elections.

You can say it is never too late to exercise your civic duty and Mao who was not registered to vote in the February elections, finally got near the ballot box six months later.

Mao voted in Omoro district on Monday morning in the by elections for the Woman Member of Parliament and the district local council. He voted from Labongo Logo polling station.

There was however low voter turn up. More than 17,300 people registered to vote in the newly created district in northern Uganda but the people who lined up to vote are far below the target in several polling stations.

Ten candidates are competing for the Woman Member of Parliament seat. They are Prossy Alanyo Owiny (FDC), Catherine Lamwaka (NRM), Christine Atimango Odongo (Independent) and Santa Okot (Independent).

The others are Grace Pamela Lanyero (DP), Maria Shaka Lapolo (UPC), Alice Aneno Oroma (Independent), Alice Akello Latigo (Independent), Rose Nyapolo (Independent) and Betty Lalam (Independent).

The contest for Omoro district chairperson attracted five candidates. They are Stephen Odong Latek (NRM), Godfrey Oryem (Independent) Douglas Peter Okello (Independent), Simon Toolit Akecha (FDC) and Robert Mugabe (Independent).