By our reporter

The Electoral Commission (EC) has set 31 May, 2018 for Rukungiri Woman MP by election.

The seat was declared vacant on 22 March, 2018 by the Court of Appeal.

Justices Paul Mugambe and Justice Owiny Dolo rendered NRM’s Winnie Matsiko’s seat invalid and ordered for a by election.

Matsiko battled a petition filed by her rival, Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)’s Betty Bamukwasa Muzanira, who, having lost the Rukungiri woman MP seat in February 2016, sought for a vote recount.

Today, the EC Chairman Justice Simon Byabakama while addressing the press at the commission’s head offices in Kampala, revealed that voting for the MP will take place on Thursday May 31, 2018 at all polling stations in Rukungiri District. And it will start at 7am and end at 4pm.

He said that the programme will commence with an update of the National Voters’ Register from 16th April to 20th April 2018 then on Friday April 20, registration of voters will be cut off.

The display of the National Voters’ Register will be conducted from 30th April to 9th May 2018, at all the two hundred and eighty (280) polling stations in Rukungiri District.

The nomination of candidates will be conducted for a period of two days, that is, Wednesday 2nd May and Thursday 3rd May 2018, at Rukungiri District Headquarters.

Campaign meetings will be held for a period of twenty six (26) days, that is, from 4th May to 29th May 2018.