By our reporter

On Friday, Victoria University held its third graduation ceremony at Kabira Country Club that saw over 100 graduands receiving diplomas and degrees in different disciplines.

The ceremony was attended by the chancellor Dr  Martin Jerome Aliker, vice chancellor Dr Krishna Sharma,  Academic Registrar Mrs Katushabe Ssemwezi, University council members led by their chairman  and former Entebbe municipality MP Dr David Matovu Byatike, his vice Mr Joseph Biribonwa, Board Member Mr James Kalebbo, Justice Mary Maitum and Mr Joram Francis Kahenano.

“I take this opportunity to congratulate you graduands upon the completion of your studies. You have worked hard and tirelessly to get to this moment, one which you will never forget in your entire lifetime. Congratulations,” the university’s Vice Chancellor Dr. Krishna N. Sharma said at the ceremony.

Emmanuel Katongole the executive chairman of Cipla Uganda who was the guest of honour , urged the graduands to apply the skills acquired from class to become influential entrepreneurs in the world saying this will reduce on the rate of unemployment.

“Your generation should be remembered for being entrepreneurs that will make the world a better place to live in. Identify your strengths and exploit them to good use for your own development. Say no to dependency and use the ideas at your disposal to the maximum to become successful,” Katongole said.

On the other hand, The Victoria University Chancellor, Dr. Martin Aliker said the university that started in 2010 is striving to be distinct from other institutions of higher learning.

“We must prove our superiority through the products we release to the field. We should be able to produce people who can think critically and analyze issues, a thing not many universities or institutions of higher learning can do,” he said.

The event reached its climax when the academic registrar invited the deans of the faculties to read the names of the graduands and the chancellor Dr Martin Jerome Aliker conferred upon them their diplomas and degrees.

The best four graduands from each faculty were also specially rewarded by the university.