By Watchdog reporter

National Resistance Movement (NRM) candidate Brenda Asinde Suubi has been declared winner in the Iganga Woman MP by-election held on Thursday.

Asinde garnered 43,197 votes trouncing her arch-rival Mariam Nantale , the FDC candidate who polled 24,077 votes.

Iganga Woman MP Seat fell vacant following the death of Grace Hailat Kaudha in August who succumbed to pregnancy complications.

There were three Independent candidates in the race; Asha Babirye who polled 7,052, Aziza Kakerewe 7,052 and Oliver Kwagala 689.

Asinde was declared winner of the by-election at exactly 03:00am by the Iganga District Returning Officer Mercy Ataho.
“As the returning officer of the area , in accordance with section 58 of the parliamentary Elections Act , I declare Ms Aside Brenda Suubi who obtained the largest number of votes winner and district representative to parliament,’’ She said.