By Watchdog reporter

Ambassadors Mubiru Stephen and Elizabeth Paula Napeyok have presented their credentials to the presidents of Turkey and Italy respectively, as a sign they are officially starting their duties in those countries.

The two ambassadors told the leaders of Italy and Turkey that Uganda was more interested in trade with their countries.

Ambassadors Mubiru presented his credentials to the president of Turkey Recep Tayyip Erdogan on 3rd October 2017 at the Presidential Complex in Ankara.

President Erdogan stated that Turkey and Uganda had a joint population of 125 million and therefore are a viable market for the sister countries. He emphasized that the cooperation between Turkey and Uganda in trade and Economic diplomacy should increase, mentioning that Turkish investors and businessmen have a growing interest in East Africa with a specific focus is on Uganda. In this regard he extended appreciation to the Government of Uganda for the land allocation to ASB  Special Economic Zone in Kaweweta stating that this will increase business between two countries, whilst creating job opportunities and contributing to Uganda’s economic development.

President Erdogan stated that the Turkish Technical Cooperation Agency (TIKA) is extending its works in Uganda and would set up its offices at the earliest opportunity in Kampala. He took the opportunity to extend an invitation to President Yoweri Museveni to visit Turkey in the near future .

Amb Mubiru was previously Uganda’s High Commissioner to Malaysia and his seat is located in Ankara.

Uganda-Italy relations


On the other hand, Ambassador Elizabeth Paula Napeyok presented her credentials to Italy leader Sergio Mattarella at the Quirinale Palace, the official residence of the Italian President on 4th October 2017.

Mr Mattarella and Amb Napeyok talked about development programs existing between the two countries and the need to foster further cooperation.

Ambassador Napeyok is an experienced diplomat and previously served as High Commissioner of Uganda to India and France.