By our reporter

Minister of Science,Technology and Innovation Dr Elioda Tumwesigye has emerged winner of the Sheema Municipality National Resistance Movement-NRM Party elections.

Tumwesigye polled 9,371 votes to beat his closest challenger Raymond Akankwatsa who polled 4,596 votes, Joseph Mwebesa with 2,932 votes, Jonas Tumwine with 2604 votes and David Kamukama 1,569 votes.

The race attracted eight candidates.

The minister is the current MP for Sheema North and his nominated for Sheema Municipality legislative seat without stepping down steered controversy within the party.

The exercises supervised by the party’s Electoral Commission (EC) were conducted in seven Municipalities of Sheema, Nebbi, Kotido, Ibanda, Apac, Njeru and Bugiri.