By Watchdog reporter

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) has shortlisted six names for the position of Chief Justice.

The six are Justices Alnashir Visram, Smokin Wanjala, Roselyne N. Nambuye, David Maraga, Mbogholi Msagha, and Nzamba Kitonga.

Kenya’s JSC will shortlist applicants for Deputy Chief Justice (DCJ) on Wednesday and on the following day for the position of Supreme Court judge.

The JSC has received 15 applications for the DCJ position and 21 for Supreme Court judge.

The number of application documents was so high that they had to be carried in five crates, a box and a briefcase.