By Watchdog reporter

KCCA FC striker Geoffrey Serunkuuma was widely expected to win the 2016/2017 Azam Uganda Premier League Footballer of the Year award, and the script did not change.

The KCCA Football Club Philip Omondi Footballer of the Year was on Wednesday night crowned the best player.

Walking away with Shs2m and a brand new Subaru Forester in a colourful function held at Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala.

I want to give glory back to God, for enabling me have the kind of season I had with KCCA FC, am really grateful for those who also voted for me,” he said.

Full list of Winners;

Champions – KCCA FC

MVP of the season: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC)

Goalkeeper of the season: Isma Watenga (Vipers)

Defender of the season: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Midfielder of the season: Saddam Juma (Express FC)

Top Scorer: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC, 21goals)

Young Player of the year: Allan Okello (KCCA FC)

Fan’s player of the year: Geoffrey Sserunkuma

Fair play club of the season: KCCA

Fair play individual of the season: Fredrick Ssenoga – Recognised after he personally drove Vincent Onyebuchi to Hospital in his car when he broke leg against Proline at Wankulukuku.

Coach of the year: Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC)

Best Goalkeeping coach: Kiggundu Stephen Billy (Vipers)

Referee of the year: Alex Muhabi

Club CEO of the season: Tamale David (KCCA FC)

Media Personality

TV – Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo (NTV)

Radio – Fiona Namiiro (Star FM)

Print – John Vianney Nsimbe (The Observer)

Photography – John Batanudde (Redpepper)

Online – Isabirye David (Kawowo Sports)

Fan(s) of the year: Onduparaka Fans

Life Time Achiever Award Patrick Kawooya (SC Villa)


Ismail Watenga (Vipers), Nicholas Wadada (Vipers), Habib Kavuma (KCCA), Timothy Awany (KCCA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Taddeo Lwanga (SC Villa), Ibrahim Saddam Juma (Express FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka), Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa) and Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA).