Kawempe Muslim Ladies Football Club has been crowned 2017/18 FUFA Women Elite League Champions after edging Olila Women Football Club by 1:0 at StarTimes Stadium Lugogo in Kampala on Saturday 26th May 2018.

Champions Kawempe received a dame cheque of UGX 12m as prize Money while Olila Women Football Club clinched Ush.7m.

Midfielder Tracy Akror took the advantage from a rebound on the edge of the box to score the vital goal in the 23rd minute.

Kawempe’s forward Juliet Nalukenge had the chance to send the Eastern based Club Olila two goals down but her effort hit the cross bar in the 71st minute.

However, Kawempe enjoyed most of the chances and in the additional time Nalukenge dribbled passed Olila’s goalkeeper Angeo Lucy before her strike hit the goal post.

“I thank God we have have made history by winning the fourth title in a row, its special to me and my team. I had given up to the trophy to the team that signed most of my players in the early stages of the league, I have used mainly young players and wasn’t expecting them to archive this. I call upon my competitors in the league not to give, they should focus on next season” said Kawempe Muslim Coach Ayub Kalifan.

Olila’s play maker Alupo Norah failed to have the best of her game in the entire 90 minutes having only one short on target thanks to the alertness and aggressiveness Kawempe’s defender and team captain Mariam Nakabugo.

Meanwhile, in the 3rd playoff match, Gafford took the victory over Kampala Queens Football Club by 1:0 thanks to Monica Namwasa’s strike in the 23rd Minute.

FUFA President  Eng. Moses Magogo graced the awarding ceremony together with FUFA 1st Vice President Justus Mugisha, FUFA 3rd  Vice President Hon. Minister Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi, Owek. Florence Balunywa Nkalubo, Hamid Juma Chairman FUFA Competitions Committee, Chris Kalibbala Chairman football development Committee , Agnes Mugena FUFA Excutive Committe member and Women Referees delegate Rosebell Rwamuyamba.