By Arinda Nsheeka Wilfred

The commissioner of the Electoral commission also former MP Kajara county Stephen Tashobya has maintained his seat as the chairperson Branch Governing Board (BGB) of the Uganda Red Cross Society Ntungamo District after being nominated unopposed.

During the elections held on Saturday  at Red Cross Society offices Ntungamo Municipality presided over by the principal Assistant secretary Ntungamo District Kiiza Fedelis elected Ntungamo District Woman MP Hon Beatrice Rwakimaari and Kemigisha Jeninah Hoopes as Women representatives’ to the board.

Others are Byarugaba Aggrey the director of Global H/S Omungyenyi as vice chairperson and Luyimbazi Boaz also unopposed as treasurer.

Tashobya hailed the manager Nsabimana Livingstone and all Red Cross members for the tremendous work done in supporting the day today activities of the Red Cross and urged them to maintain the spirit of volunteerism to enable it to achieve it core principles.

Hon Rwakimaari who was represented by Natukunda Peace Kaconco the District lady councilor for Rubaare Town council and Sub County assured the members that she will lobby for more projects for sustainability of the society.

The Branch manager Nsabimana Livingstone who is four month old in the office commended the cooperation amongst the members saying that they have so far recruited more members and collected 1335 units of blood.

He also revealed that they are to initiate Red Cross Action Team (RCAT) members in every sub county to respond to any disaster and report such case to the office of the prime minister and UNICEF through free message app URCS and send to 8500.

The youth chairperson Nimisiima Lucky Masika called for unity and tolerance if the society is to move forward.