By Najibu Mulema

The Constitutional Court has today afternoon issued an interim order stopping Parliament from probing the shs 6 billion presidential handshake.

The shs 6 billion ‘presidential handshake’ was shared among 42 senior government officials after Uganda Revenue Authority (URA)’s Court settlement win against British oil firm, Tullow oil.

On learning about the oil cash bonanza at the beginning of this year, parliamentarians came out to oppose the ruthless act which even prompted the Speaker of Parlaiment, Rebecca Kadaga to set a date when members shall look into the matter.

However, today the constitutional court has prohibited parliament from carrying out any sought of inquiry into the oil cash bonanza.

It is well established that President Yoweri Museveni is the one who ordered the ministry of Finace to reward the few selected officials for the job well done.

Among the officials who received the cash include; the current Finance Ministry Permanent Secretary Keith Muhakanizi who received Shs 108m.

Former Attorney General Peter Nyombi received Shs 226m.

Lawrence Kiiza, a senior official in the Ministry of Finance was paid Shs 102m while Martin Mwambutsya, a Senior Attorney in the Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs took home Shs 232m.

Ernest Rubondo, who heads the Directorate of the Petroleum Authority of Uganda, received Shs 266m.

Solicitor General, Francis Atoke was given Shs 234m while URA lawyer, Ali Ssekatawa got Shs 242m.

The Director of Legal Affairs at the Solicitor General’s office, Christopher Gashirabake, got Shs 242m.
Honey Malinga, who served as Vice Director of the Petroleum Exploration & Production Department (PEPD), was handed Shs 262m.

Moses Kaggwa, a Member Commissioner for Tax Policy Ministry of Finance, got Shs 234m.
Moses Kibumba, a private tax expert having formerly worked with URA for 21 years as a tax auditor, received Shs 93m.

Moses Kajubi who was serving as URA Commissioner, Domestic Taxes, got Shs 226m.

Peter Muliisa, a URA lawyer with a masters in Petroleum Taxation and Finance, was paid Shs 234m.

Rodney Golooba and Samuel Kahima, all lawyers with URA, received Shs 222m and Shs 224m respectively.

Harriet Lwabi Musoke, a senior official at Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, bagged Shs 242m while Harriet Tukamushaba who works in the same office received Shs 99m.

KCCA Director Jenifer Musisi, who had previously served as head of the legal department at URA, was given Shs 121m.
Robinah Nakakawa, a commissioner at URA, took home Shs 242m while Elizabeth Nakkungu of the Justice Ministry received Shs 238m.

Principal State Attorney George Kallemera got Shs 232M.

Others are Syson Ainembabazi of URA legal department (Shs216m), Assistant Commissioner Tax Investigations, Irene Bashabe Kyomuhendo (Shs 210m) and URA Manager Customs Audit, Agnes Nabwire.