Joseph Aredo will lead Uganda’s A-team

By Peter Tabu

Team Uganda will be represented by two teams at the upcoming Safari Sevens due this weekend. The annual series, won once by Uganda and nine times by hosts Kenya will be held at RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi, Kenya.

The teams are classified in two groups A and B.

Betway Kobs’ Joseph Aredo, Pirates’ Desire Ayera as well as Aaron Ofoyirwoth will lead Uganda’s A side. They are joined by Isaac Massa and Muhammad Haruna who were part of the national side for the first time at the recently concluded Africa sevens in Tunisia.

Kevin Keremundu and Paul Epilo also make the cut.

Meanwhile, Uganda’s B side will be captained by Alur Stephen, assisted by Raymond Emanzi. Buffaloes’ William Seguya, Ali Hayder, Dalton Kato and William Nkore. These are some of the players that make up Emerging Uganda team.

The Safari 7s is an invite only tournament which has been won the most by Kenya, recording nine titles to their name. Uganda will hope to improve on their performance, having only won the sheild in 2011.

Uganda’s Squad

1. Joseph Aredo (C)
2. Isaac Massa (VC)
3. Aaron Ofoyrwoth
4. Haruna Muhammad
5. Tawfiq Bagalana
6. Daudi Semwami
7. Desire Ayera
8. Joel Opio Papi
9. Levis Ocen
10. Kevin Kermundu
11. Paul Epilo
12. Innocent Gwoktho

Team B

1. Alul Stephen (C)
2. Emanzi Raymond (VC)
3. Nkore William
4. Kato Dalton
5. Dennis Etwau
6. Johnson Bayiga
7. Wako David
8. Otema Ivan
9. Odugo Faraj
10. Okeny Sexton
11. Ali Hayder
12. Seguya Wilfred