By Watchdog reporter

Seven candidates have been nominated to contest for Aruu North vacant Parliamentary seat.

The candidates were nominated on Friday following the recent kickout of the former seat holder, Aciro Lucy Otim.

On 6 February, 2017, a panel of three judges; Richard Buteera, Barishaki Cheborion and Paul Mugamba unanimously dusmissed Aciro’s election appeal and ordered the Electoral Commission to organise fresh elections in the constituency.

In June 2016 Aciro was thrown out of Parliament by Gulu High Court which ruled that the MP indulged in Electoral malpractices. She petitioned Court of Appeal challenging thr High Court decision.

Apparently, Aciro is among the nominees on independent ticket.
Her biggest competitor Kidega James Nok of NRM is in the race alongside five candidates including Ojera David, Nyero Francis, Oryem Justine Komakech Henry Banya and Democratic Party’s Obina Bernard Ollogi.

The election body set 2 April 2017 as the election date to fill the vacant seat.